Thanks for everything Dads! What would we do without you?

My Awesome Dad got this:

No, he doesn’t have really long hair. That’s me. Maybe this summer I can get a picture of him in his hat. I knit it using this pattern I found on Ravelry. The decreases make this cool swirl on the top of the hat:

Ehhhh. I didn’t bother getting out my tripod and had a hard time photographing the top of my head. Oh, well, you can kind of see what I’m talking about. It’s like a pin wheel shape on top.

I was waiting for the circular needles I ordered to arrive (I made my first foray into the world of nice needles and bought a pair of Addi Turbos), but I got impatient and knit it on some double pointed needles I already had. They’re metal and I had lots of problems with stitches sliding off. On the upside I was forced to figure out how to pick up dropped stitches. Eventually I got frustrated and came up with this cork based system:

It worked but, man, if I ever make anything on double pointed needles again, they’ll have to be wooden. I do want to make some leg warmers that are knit on dpns, though I think there is an Addi Lace tiny tiny circular needle, maybe even as small as 8 inches. I might have to look into that.

 

